10 December 1985—11 January 1986

The Constant Vertical

THE CONSTANT VERTICAL opens the second season of exhibitions presented by REPUBLIC. The exhibition features drawing, painting and sculpture by six artists including PETER BOWYER, BETTY GOODWIN, DONNA MEHALKO, EDWARD PIEN, CYNTHIA SHORT and JOHANNES ZITS, whose work focuses on the human figure. The artists were invited to react to the suggestion that the artist concentrating on the figure is faced with redefining the relevance of the subject matter and must "imbue the exterior form with an interior reality".


Peter Bowyer is a Toronto artist who received his BA in 1979 from Saint Martin’s School of Art in London. He has exhibited his work in Toronto, and participated in group exhibitions in London, England and Utica, New York.

Betty Goodwin has been exhibited extensively in Canada as well as in New York at the 49th Parallel. She lives in Montreal and is represented in public and private collections throughout Canada. In Toronto she is represented by Sable-Castelli.

Donna Mehalko studied at the Banff Centre, the Ontario College of Art, and received her BFA in 1979 from the University of Alberta. She lives in Toronto, and has exhibited in solo and group shows in Toronto, Calgary and Edmonton.

Edward Pien studied in Venice, Italy, received his BFA from the University of Western Ontario, and his MFA from York University in 1984. He lives in Toronto and has participated in exhibitions in Toronto, London and Montreal.

Cynthia Short received her BFA in 1979 from the University of Alberta and her MFA from York University in 1981. She has exhibited in parallel and public galleries in Toronto, Montreal, Edmonton, Winnipeg, and Halifax, and is represented by the Wynick/Tuck Gallery.

Johannes Zits received his BFA from York University in 1984. He also studied at the Banff Centre and the University of Alberta. He lives in Toronto and has participated in exhibitions in Edmonton, Toronto and Ottawa.

REPUBLIC is an artists' group centred in Toronto, operating as a curating organization. The group has a policy of "reactive curation" in which artists' work is solicited for exhibition as a response to a curatorial thesis. The members of REPUBLIC are Magdalen Celestino, Peter Cosco, Peter Dykhuis, Paul Housego, Donna Mehalko, Simon Muscat, Adrienne Trent, and Ben Walmsley.